IRCTC Apprentice Recruitment 2026: Indian Railway Catering and Tourism Corporation Ltd. (IRCTC), West Zone, Mumbai, has invited online applications for engagement of 27 apprentices across four apprenticeship categories under Notification No. 2026-27/IRCTC/WZ/Apprentice, dated 30 September 2026.
Opportunities are listed for Computer Operator and Programming Assistant (COPA), Executive – Procurement, HR Executive – Payroll and Employee Data Management, and Marketing Operations and Analytics. The application window runs from 30 September to 18 October 2026. This is 12-month apprenticeship training, not regular permanent recruitment.
IRCTC Apprentice Recruitment 2026 Overview
| Organisation | Indian Railway Catering and Tourism Corporation Ltd. (IRCTC) |
| Zone | West Zone, Mumbai |
| Notification No. | 2026-27/IRCTC/WZ/Apprentice |
| Notification Date | 30 September 2026 |
| Total Apprentice Positions | 27 |
| Qualification | Matriculation + NCVT/SCVT ITI for COPA; relevant graduation / pursuing qualifications for other categories, as specified post-wise |
| Minimum Matric Marks | 50% aggregate from a recognised Board |
| Age | 15 (completed) to 25 years, with applicable relaxation; see age-reference-date discrepancy noted below |
| Stipend | As per rates prescribed under the Apprenticeship Act; numerical amounts not stated in this notification |
| Training Duration | 12 months |
| Posting | Mumbai or Regional Offices / Units under IRCTC West Zone |
| Selection | Class 10 merit list followed by document verification; no written exam or viva |
| Application | Online; Apprenticeship India registration details required |
| Last Date | 18 October 2026 |
IRCTC Vacancy Details 2026
| Apprenticeship Category | Department | Positions |
|---|---|---|
| Computer Operator and Programming Assistant (COPA) | All Departments | 12 |
| Executive – Procurement | Catering | 6 |
| HR Executive – Payroll and Employee Data Management | Finance | 3 |
| Marketing Operations and Analytics | Tourism | 6 |
| Total | 27 | |
Educational Qualification
For every notified apprenticeship category, the advertisement additionally requires the applicant to have passed Matriculation with at least 50% aggregate marks from a recognised Board. Applicants must also meet the specific qualification for their chosen category by the stated cut-off date.
1. Computer Operator and Programming Assistant (COPA)
Matriculation and an ITI certificate affiliated with NCVT or SCVT in the relevant COPA trade.
2. Executive – Procurement
The advertisement lists: “Graduation Pursuing in Commerce / CA Inter / Supply Chain / or similar.” This wording should be checked carefully against the official notice and eligibility instructions when applying; it is reproduced here rather than assuming that every completed degree or course is automatically accepted.
3. HR Executive – Payroll and Employee Data Management
Graduate in any discipline, subject to the notification’s general requirements.
4. Marketing Operations and Analytics
Graduate in any discipline, subject to the notification’s general requirements.
Age Limit and Relaxation
The advertised age range is 15 years completed to 25 years. The notice gives the following upper-age relaxation:
- SC / ST: 5 years
- OBC: 3 years
- PwBD: 10 years
- Ex-Servicemen: Relaxation under the detailed service-related conditions in the official notification
Age cut-off clarification: The vacancy table contains the heading “as on 18/08/25,” while the note immediately below specifies 30 September 2026 as the cut-off for qualifications and age. Because the PDF contains both dates, candidates should confirm the operative age-reference date with IRCTC before relying on an age calculation.
IRCTC Apprentice Stipend and Duration
The training period is 12 months for all four categories. The notification states that selected apprentices will receive a monthly stipend at prescribed Apprenticeship Act rates. It does not provide category-wise rupee amounts; candidates should not assume a fixed stipend based on unrelated IRCTC advertisements.
Training is at Mumbai or other regional offices / units under IRCTC West Zone, as assigned.
Selection Process – No Written Examination
Selection is based on a merit list prepared using the percentage of marks in the Matriculation examination. The notification expressly states that there will be no written test or viva.
- Prepare merit based on Class 10 aggregate marks.
- For equal marks, the older candidate receives preference; if dates of birth are also equal, preference goes to the candidate who passed Matriculation earlier.
- Shortlisted applicants attend verification of original certificates, potentially at short notice.
- Engagement offers are issued in merit order, subject to successful document verification; the standby list may be used where notified candidates do not join or are rejected.
For a grading system, the advertisement says the average of the highest and lowest marks will be used for the prescribed conversion.
Application Fee
The uploaded advertisement does not specify an application fee. Review the active application portal before submission for any applicable instructions.
Documents Required
Applicants should keep legible self-attested copies of the relevant documents ready, including:
- Class 10 mark sheet and date-of-birth proof
- ITI marks and NCVT/SCVT trade certificate, for COPA applicants
- Graduation degree and mark sheets, where applicable
- Caste / EWS / disability certificate, if claiming the respective category
- Discharge or serving certificate, if claiming Ex-Servicemen-related eligibility
- Recent colour photograph (3.5 cm × 4.5 cm) and two additional matching photographs for verification
Shortlisted candidates will need to produce original documents with two self-attested photocopies during verification.
Important Dates
| Notification Date | 30 September 2026 |
| Online Application Starts | 30 September 2026 |
| Last Date for Online Application | 18 October 2026 |
How to Apply for IRCTC Apprentice Recruitment 2026
- Read the official IRCTC West Zone Apprentice notification carefully.
- Register and maintain the required applicant details on the Apprenticeship India portal; the notification requires applicants to produce those registration details.
- Use the active apprenticeship opportunity/application process shown on the official portal for the correct IRCTC West Zone category.
- Enter your personal information exactly as it appears on the Matriculation certificate, including name and date of birth.
- Submit the required educational and category documents for your chosen apprenticeship category, as instructed on the portal.
- Complete online submission on or before 18 October 2026 and keep a copy for future use.
Important Links
| Purpose | Official Link |
|---|---|
| Official IRCTC Notification PDF | Download Notification |
| Apprenticeship Registration / Apply | Open Apprenticeship India Portal |
| Official IRCTC Website | Check IRCTC Updates |
Application-link note: The notification provides the Apprenticeship India registration portal but does not include a separate recruitment-specific application URL. Find the relevant IRCTC West Zone opportunity and confirm it matches this 2026 notification before submitting.
Useful Geosial Services for Applicants
| Service | Link |
|---|---|
| Geosial Smart Tools | Image Resize, PDF Conversion and Other Free Tools |
| Personal Job Alert | Get Job Alerts Matching Your Qualifications |
Can Candidates from Kerala Apply?
The notification does not state a Kerala domicile restriction, and eligible candidates may apply subject to the published requirements and portal conditions. All listed training placements are in IRCTC West Zone, including Mumbai or its regional offices/units, not specifically in Kerala.
Frequently Asked Questions
How many IRCTC West Zone apprenticeship positions are announced?
The notification lists 27 positions across four categories.
Can ITI candidates apply?
Yes. The COPA category requires Matriculation and an affiliated NCVT/SCVT ITI certificate, together with the general requirement of at least 50% Matriculation marks.
Are graduates eligible?
Yes. HR Executive and Marketing Operations and Analytics accept graduates in any discipline; Executive – Procurement has separately worded qualifications in the notification.
Is there a written examination?
No. Selection is based on Matriculation marks followed by document verification.
What is the apprenticeship stipend?
The notification states stipend will be paid according to prescribed Apprenticeship Act rates but gives no exact rupee figure.
What is the last application date?
18 October 2026.
Applicants should refer to the official PDF and portal for authoritative recruitment conditions, especially the age cut-off discrepancy and exact eligibility for Executive – Procurement.
